watch TV or play computer games

The idea that it is better for children to read stories from a book than watch TV or play computer games remains one of the highly controversial issues today. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I am going to examine my point of view and then give my own opinion. First thing first, children can improve their imagination through reading books. By reading stories, children can create a vision and visualize all events described by words in the book. They will imagine their own worlds through the books, thus they can enhance their imagination and creativity. Meanwhile, this can hardly be the case in watching TV because TV already provides them full images and colours. Secondly, reading books also develops children’s verbal abilities compared to watching TV or playing computer games. Children will be exposed to a wide range of vocabularies and sentence structures when reading, thereby improve their writing skills. In addition, reading stories from books also improves children’s memories. When they read books, they must remember the character information, expressive nuances through the character's narrative, or the circumstances that form the lifestyle through each story. It may be a bit much, but gradually their brain will remember it all through practice over time. Like a habit, repeat it many times and they will get used to memorizing it right away. In conclusion, I tend to believe that the advantages of reading books are much more than watching TV and playing computer games for children and this activity is good for both their imagination and language ability.