Waste production has been increased drastically during the pandemic

Waste production has been increased drastically during the pandemic. Fear of the virus and a sudden lockdown have led to an increase in single-use products and panic buying. Sarkodie, S. A. , & Owusu, P. A. (2020, August 26). Impact of COVID-19 pandemic on waste management. This pandemic has changed the way we live and brought us to a new normal. Food deliveries, online shopping and staying home have caused us to produce more waste than before. According to the findings, 45% of respondents noticed an increase in the use of packaged foods, fresh foods, and meal delivery. The fact that people spent more time at home during the lockdown was one of the key causes for the increased waste creation. In addition, food waste and plastic packaging increased by 53% globally. I agree that waste production has increased, and we should reduce the waste production to ensure that we have a better environment for us and for the future generations. Firstly, we will be able to reduce waste by purchasing second-hand items and donate used goods. Consider buying it used which can also save you lots of money. We should buy for second-hand garments if you want to lessen your environmental effect. Because the lifespan of re-used or recycled clothing is extended, re-use and recycling give some carbon savings. Therefore, this replaces the purchase of a new garment, the environmental impacts of fibre extraction and processing are avoided. Whiting, T. (2019, September 02). Should You Buy Clothes Second Hand To Reduce Your Environmental Impact. Secondly, purchase wisely and recycle. You may limit the amount of garbage you make by selecting products that have less packing or come in recyclable packaging. Eight Ways You Can Reduce Waste in Your Life and Home. (2018, September 13). We can avoid things that are wrapped in plastic or that are overly packaged in boxes and bags is an excellent method to reduce waste. You will save both energy and natural resources as well. As a result, instead of buying individually packaged items, buy large economy-sized items. Examples include laundry soap, shampoo, dishwashing detergent, dry pet food, cat litter, and other non-perishable products. Next, composting is a good way to reduce waste production. Composting takes a little more time and effort, but it will pay off in the long run. We will be able save money on fertilisers, and if you grow our own vegetables, our yields will almost certainly improve. Because the organic matter acts as a sponge to absorb more water and as a result we may not need to water our plants as frequently, saving money and time. Lastly, we should avoid single-use food and drink containers and utensils. We must try to avoid single-use coffee cups, disposable utensils, straws, and napkins. Nowadays, some establishments or restaurants will even give you a discount if you bring your own mug. Instead of using plastic straws, invest in reusable metal ones. Besides, many of these products are made of plastic, that they had to be brought by truck, and that they will wind up in a landfill once we have used them. Andrewh, A. T. (2015, October 29). In conclusion, everyone is working to build a more sustainable future for our children and grandchildren by recycling, reusing, and reducing the amount of waste we produce. We only have a finite number of natural resources on this planet, as well as a finite capacity to handle trash, therefore it's critical that we all contribute to a better future every day. I hope that we will be able to manage and reduce the waste production. The best way to stop trash is to stop buying and using products that are not durable, reusable, or repairable.