Waste problems in Big Cities

New York, Tokyo, Mumbai, and Shanghai are all facing the same problem, regardless of their location around the world; this problem of population explosion. With the huge population comes a ton of garbage. This has become one of the most critical issues for governments across the world. Among all the different solutions different countries have, the Republic of Singapore’s solution seems to be the most effective. Waste problems have become a growing issue; where it impairs public health, pollutes the environment and threatens to ruin some poor countries in toxicity. It is a thing that we have to produce, however, more than half the world’s population do not have access to regular trash collection, which seems to be a harsh statistic given the amount of waste being produced. To begin with, poorly-managed waste can cause many issues within cities. It affects the health of the mass population as well as it affects the image of cities. To keep the streets clean and the public health safe, the government would need to spend tons of money, which sometimes could be difficult. Secondly, the disposal of all of the waste we produce is another big issue. Some cities do not have the access to regular trash collection so waste builds up and sometimes can be put away in nature. On top of that, even if they have a regular waste collection, some places do not have a convenient place to dispose of, creating huge landfills just outside of the city. Sometimes these landfills are so big, some cities have to create a second one just to have a place to put their trash. There seems to be many possible solutions towards this problem, such as enforcing certain laws and regulations as well as incineration. There are a few steps that governments can take to reduce these impacts to a certain extent. This being that the city should enforce some basic rules on citizens and industries which produce the garbage. These laws could be anything from garbage segregation and producing the goods that can be reused or recycled. On top of that, there could be strict policies for people who may break these rules. Secondly, cities around the world need to facilitate the ways of garbage collection. Having a proper system can help ensure that all the waste is being collected. Lastly, cities should have a specific system when it comes to disposing garbage. Singapore has one system that seems to be working really well for them. They incinerate their garbage into ash (Garbage of Eden). They still seem to be recycling whatever they can - plastic, glass, electrons and even concrete (Garbage of Eden). From here, the government of Singapore built a seven kilometer rock platform to dump all the waste ash (Garbage of Eden). This ash island has now become a biodiversity hotspot attracting many plants and animals. It is so popular that sometimes even tourists come to see it (Garbage of Eden). These solutions are quick and effective to invest into city lives, and can be the best investment as they can adapt to all the growing cities, meaning that overall it will be a longer term solution. Waste pollution is a major problem today, not only for people’s health but as well for the world’s environment. These increasing volumes of garbage dumps are creating less space for humans to live on. By implementing certain laws and regulations against citizens and industries as well as having a proper waste management system, this problem can be close to resolved. This means that we have to all work together to keep our world clean and safe.