According to some people, the extinction of plants and animals is the biggest environmental threat we face today.

According to some people, the extinction of plants and animals is the biggest environmental threat we face today. While I do not admit that this is a major issue, in my opinion, there are even bigger causes of concern. The loss of plants and animals certainly poses challenge. It will break the food chain and cause problems. For example, when predatory animals like lion and tiger at the top of the pyramid disappear, it will lead to an uncontrollable increase in the number of herbivores. Unfortunately, this development will hurt farm yield as animals like deer, rabbits and pigs will become vermin and eat up farm produce. This will lead to foodscarcity all over the world. On the other hand, climate change caused by human activity is an even bigger challenge. Due to pollution and the resultant green house gas effect, global temperatures are rising. The causes the melting the polar ice and the subsequent increase in sea levels. Major coastal cities all over the world are already facing risk of getting submerged in the oceans. Climate change also leads to more frequent occurrences of flooding. This affects food production. Another issue in the health problems is both humans and animals. Many forms of birds and animals can no longer survive in the highly polluted urban areas. People living in such places are facing various health problem like asthama and cancer. If the temperature continue to rise at this pace, the planet may become inhabitable 2 or 3 centuries down the lane. Obviously, climate change is the bigger threat than the extinction of wildlife. In conclusion, the extinction of wildlife and the resultant loss of biodiversity is certainly a grave issue. However, climate change and the associated problems are even bigger challenges as they can threaten the very existence of life on the planet.