Walking is known to be beneficial for health, yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to address this problem?

Although walking possesses significant beneficial impact on health, few people adopt this activity. The lack of time and laziness are the main reason of not doing this activity. This issue can be curbed by creating awareness among masses and rewarding them to motivate for such activities. In this competitive era everyone is trying to uplift his economic status. Owing to this behaviour, they cannot allocate specific time for walking. As an illustration, my grandfather, a well known business man in his town, had to work for long hours. He had to eat, while attending meetings. Hence, no time was left for walking. Not only the lack of time, but laziness is the major contributing factor that stop people to walk. To illustrate, the younger generation tends to sit on the couch rather than going out with friends for a walk. Therefore, laziness and scarcity of time are the reason for sedentary life style. This problem can be addressed by creating awareness in the general population with the help of the media. For example, the government of Pakistan is promoting healthy activities with the help of eminent actors. Furthermore, children can be motivated by their families to walk by rewarding them with gifts. Thus, creation of awareness and motivation, help people choose healthy activities. To conclude, walking has a huge positive impact on our health. Despite being beneficial less people do this activity. The scarcity of time and lazy nature of the young generation are the main reasons. This issue can be solved by creating awareness and motivation among people.