Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Across the globe, a plethora of individuals have debated about the issue of the lifestyle people follow. It is argued that nowadays, despite of the merits walking contribute to health, more and more people stopped doing this activity. Thus, this essay will discuss the factors responsible for the reducing number of walking and suggest some possible solutions in order to improve the current situation. First of all, the roots of this major problem are urbanization and affordable prices of public and private vehicles. With the advent of city development, it is intuitively obvious that a number of buildings has been constructed, however some of locations are far away from each other. As a result, people are more prone to use public transport or their own cars so as to get to their destination rather than going several kilometers on foot. Another reason is that people feel availability and financial affordance in using public transportation system. For instance, the low prices for one travel by a variety of public vehicles appeared to be attractive for people so that people are more willing to drive to their location by these means of transport. With respect to the conceivable solutions to deal with this issue, it is significant to promote health awareness among people as well as closing public transportations and other cabs such as a taxi for weekend. It is a compelling argument to provide people with information about their health conditions and most preferably, about the beneficial effects of walking. For instance, a majority of people will be conscious of what they lose and then will make an effort to enhance the situation by going on foot at least once in three days. Making restrictions in working of cities’ public transportation conclusively means that there will be essential changes in the lifestyles of people in a positive way. To illustrate, there will be need for citizens with no cars to go on their own in order to reach their locations due to the lack of other possible means. To conclude from the aforementioned views, people’s minimized amount of walking is caused by two main factors such as the improvement of cities and affordable prices of public transports. However, it is vital for people to keep the principles of the healthy lifestyles, especially supporting going on foot every day, therefore such ways as promotion of health consciousness and limitation of public usage were demonstrated to tackle this problem.