Volunteerism for students in order to graduate

A growing number of public schools in Italy require students to complete community service hours to graduate. Such volunteering, be it teaching in middle schools or working at a health-care facility or spending time with lonely elderly, has obvious benefits for the community and help students develop important life skills. However, in my opinion, making volunteerism compulsory misses the point of the act. By its definition, volunteer work is done willingly. By requiring students to do community service in order to graduate, schools are taking away students’ chance to give up their time for something they believe in, making volunteerism less meaningful and pleasurable. Furthermore, imposing community services can cause a negative rection, because students instead of focusing on the good they are doing, they would be upset due to the fact that they are there against their will and put very little effort in their job. In conclusion, I think that students should at least be free to choose what kind of voluntary work they want to do and when.