virtual or real classrooms

At present, we could either attend traditional classes in learning institutions, or virtual classes in online universities and colleges. Despite sharing some superficial similarities, the differences between a traditional class and an online class are remarkable. The first distinction between a traditional class and an online class is scheduling. Traditional class requires a fixed place or environment for learning and teaching. This restricts the number of students that can study at the same time. The number of students would depend on the size of the class and the learning institution. Furthermore, traditional class is not flexible as it requires the students and teachers to attend a particular place at specific times. On the other hand, the online class allows an unlimited number of students to learn at the same time, which only requires a connection to the network for accessing the virtual class. It is also possible that students from different countries gather in one class. Students can allocate their time easily to pursue their studies in virtual classes. In short, the flexibility of online classes allows students to attend classes at anytime and anywhere, whereas students of traditional classes need to comply with a rigid timetable for completing their studies. The learning process is another aspect that differs online classes from traditional classes; nevertheless, they are similar in terms of the way in accessing information. For traditional classes, students would need to go to brick-and-mortar learning institutions for pursuing their studies. The traditional class would be more book-approached. Materials like lecture notes, tutorial notes, reference books, and textbooks are necessary for traditional classes. The library is the place which students could find more information about courses. By contrast, the learning process of online classes basically relies on the computer and the Internet. All materials of study are basically available in online classes and other external websites. However, students of both types of classes could reach the same platform to access information, which is the Internet. Both types of learning need students to surf the Internet to gain more knowledge regarding matters of subjects. There are several resemblances between a traditional class and an online class, apart from the significant distinctions discussed. Both types of learning fully rely on teaching from professors or lecturers. Instructors play crucial roles in conveying information and guiding students throughout the course. In a traditional class, instructors would need to turn up for class and present learning materials. Students would need to attend traditional classes regularly to gain more knowledge regarding their courses. Teachers and students were busy covering' what was set forth in the textbooks and workbooks. As for online classes, an online learner can view the learning materials at his or her own convenience as there are several instructors who present the learning materials in live mode, have pre-recorded their lectures, or even interact one-on-one with students. In short, students are required to interact with instructors and glean information in both traditional classes and virtual classes. In addition, both types of learning have the same method of assessments which comprise formal tests and assignments. For the traditional class, students can often grade each other’s work or edit each other’s written assignment but the online class can hardly carry out this task unless students send the assignment electronically to each other. It is obvious that the method of assessments of both a traditional class and an online class is identical. In conclusion, we could experience several distinctions between a traditional class and an online class, like fixed scheduling versus flexible scheduling, book-based learning process versus technology-based learning process, and face-to-face communication versus online communication. Learning plays a significant role in our life, and knowledge is an asset for us that could be used to deal with daily occurrences. As we have concerned, only different particular characters would suit either traditional class or online class. Hence, we would need to identify our personality and preference before making choice between these two alternatives.