VIOLENCE MEDIA AND CHILDREN

No. There is absolutely no evidence to support this theory. First, let's draw up some definitions. When we talk about “media" we mostly mean entertainment and not journalism. It may be that people with a liking for violence will play violent video games. But the games themselves have nothing to do with causing violence. How do we know this? Top gaming nations like Korea, Japan, Taiwan don't have violence issues the US has. Their culture is entirely diffent and they don't have the access to guns that Americans do. In fact, streaming games are now being investigated for bringing down crime. Kids are too busy playing games to get up to mischief. Also, I would question the idea that these days kids are worse than earlier generations. Humanity itself is moving away from violence as a whole, not towards it. A few hundred years ago, teens were considered adults. They married, fought in wars and so on. They hunted, slaughtered farm animals and witnessed and perpetrated far more inter personal violence than they do today. The idea of the idyllic childhood was only a reality for a tiny privileged few. Yet we seem to have bought into the idea that it was the norm and today is far worse. That simply is not true.