Some people think they have done all they should do to society by paying taxes, but other people think people should take more responsibilities.

Different people have different ideas about whether we, as average citizens, should hold more accountabilities besides paying taxes or not. In my opinion, there are still many responsibilities that can be taken by residents. The advocates against taking more responsibilities think that problems faced by society are so significant that individual citizen, as a member of thousands of millions of people in whole society, actually can do a very limited number of things. The existing issues ranging from the environmental pollution, the uneven distribution of resources to traffic congestion cannot be eliminated by a certain group of people, let alone a common citizen. In addition, the taxes we paid to the country can be allocated to a variety of fields, mitigating problems in distinct industries. For example, the taxes we levied can be utilized to financially support some educational programmes which aim to train teachers from disadvantaged backgrounds. However, although we cannot directly contribute to tackling social problems, there are still many small things that we can do to help government improve the society as a whole, as long as we change//调整 our habits or raise awareness of contributing to society. Firstly, if we can change some of our working or daily habits, we can still make a significant contribution to the development of our society. For example, the transformation from driving private cars to taking public transport, like public buses or subway, can not only decline the level of air pollution, but also alleviate the traffic jam, further decreasing traffic accidents. In addition, we are still able to contribute positively to a society by raising the environmental awareness. It is often the case that we are exposed to multiple information on the television about how serious damage can be caused to our soil if too much chemical fertilizers are employed in the agricultural process, or the potential disasters brought by the global climate warming. If we, especially farmers, can replace the use of chemicals with new technological methods, or if we develop the habits of taking public transportation when traveling outside, the contributions we make are so enormous that cannot be neglected. In conclusion, i still believe that common citizens should take more responsibilities except paying taxes.