violence, child, punishment agree disgree?

Children should be taught about moral values and how to distinguish right from wrong at an early age. Some claim that punishment is an important element of this process. I moderately agree with this statement as punishment has positive effects in instilling discipline, however, careful consideration should be given to the effects of the methods chosen. Corporal harm, for example, must be avoided under all circumstances while limiting access to favorite items like cell phones could be opted for. Negative reinforcement is an essential part of education. It provides useful insights into the recent activities and structures of future behavior. If, for example, a fifteen-year-old is not punished for cyberbullying, he or she might be motivated to continue such actions as young people do not fully understand the consequences of their crimes. Yet, punishing them corporally would traumatize the little culprit and could lead them to see violence as a solution. Punishment is necessary to show that the wrongdoing is not acceptable, and focus on cultivating the right reaction rather than punishing. In order to ensure that, parents and teachers have to make smart choices. Methods chosen should convey the message without harming the child physically or psychologically. Restricting them from using the mean they used to commit the offense, like taking telephones for a period in the case of wrong internet use or grounding if fought with a friend, could be useful in such occasions. In addition, children should be given time alone to think about what they did, and they should be allowed to express themselves in a consulting session with an experienced professional. In summary, the right method of punishment could help youth to understand their misdemeanor and to correct their behavior. While punishing, no harm should be caused for the offender, type of punishment should be specific to crime, and children should be given the chance to reflect.