to step-up self-development one must first reject familiar

Reformation is brought about in the dearth of something. If we are complacent of the things happening around change do not occur. To entice any change whether be it positive or negative questions regarding our previous beliefs must be raised. If people had not raised their voice against the treatment of women in the 18th century, freedom that women enjoy now would not have been possible. The prompt provided implies the same; doubt of the familiar things will ensure ones growth and in my belief i agree with the prompt. Development and progress only recognized when there is significant change in the situation. It can only be commenced when one realizes that the state one is in is not the ideal one and improvement can be made. Same is the case with personal growth as well. If one does not question the conventional beliefs he will not seek any change. For instance, Galileo Galilei, a maverick, who stood against the church for his iconoclastic beliefs made a revolution in the world. He proposed the idea that earth moved around the sun; however this was intolerable for the church members who believed the opposite. Thus, although Galileo was right, he was put to prison. Had he stayed satiated with the prevalent beliefs he would not have been able to proposed such remarkable theory. As Galileo, there are various scientists, artists, politicians, leaders who brought about change by opposing the predominant theories and teachings. For example, slaves who were consistently abused and exploited realized they require a change. Had they stayed complacent, they would not have brought the revolution. These slaves were the minority and they were considered expendables. They were not provided with the basic rights. It was a flaw in the governance. However they were the minority and their masters had their leash in the hand. To question the authority was to lose their head. But their resilience and dauntless actions made the impossible possible and freed all the slaves. On the contrary, one may argue that previous knowledge or familiar things create a base for the new innovations. They support the generation of the ideas that develop into new theories. This does raise a doubt about the convivial and agreement among things. If people were to doubt and reject everything it will surely bring chaos and disturbance. Thus, in conclusion, it can be inferred that acknowledging past traditions and beliefs is important but to blindly follow it is inane.