Vietnamese society has changed significantly in the past decades. However, many traditional values and practices have been lost, which is a pity. with this statement?

In the recent years, there is a growing concern in the dramatic changes of society in Viet Nam which may result in traditional degradation. Personally, I strongly agree with this founded preoccupation and my reasons are shown below. Obviously, that technology, transportation and industry are reinforced leads to higher standard of living which has a great impact on the modification of thinking patterns. Traditions and customs are altered as a result. There are a number of festivals and rituals reduced steps or denatured. Take Teachers’ Day as an example. The expected purpose why it was celebrated is for who are students and who used to be students to express their gratitude, honour and love to ones who taught them. Stunning cards, tiny gifts or some pervasive flowers were supposed to be popular but the best presents. Nevertheless, over the past decades, people tend to pay more attention to the financial values of the presents. Therefore, high heels and clothes originating from renowned brands or precious jewels or even envelopes are more and more predominant. In my viewpoint, the aforementioned tendency is not entirely negative but tradition, apparently, changed partly its initial aim. One another example worth considering is Tet holiday which is viewed as the deep-rooted tradition on a large-scale in Viet Nam. At first, people made use of Tet as an opportunity to hold reunion and pay their relatives, neighbors, friends a visit. However, in the recent years, Vietnamese citizens only pay respect for their most close-knit flesh and blood. In other words, relationships among people have been shrinking steadily and the custom has been degraded gradually. In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that believe it or not, Vietnamese people’s traditional values are under threat of retrogression based on my two above actual instances.