Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

Financial studies are an important aspect of education that can be accessed by a part of society. The underage people have been limited in adopting skills related to managing their own economy as a relevant ability in life. I strongly believe that financial education must be taught in schools. To begin with, it is well known that investing money is a difficult decision. That is the reason why financial knowledge ensures spending money smartly. Establishing priorities in an efficient way should be a decision taken measuredly every day by schoolchildren because it will prepare them to administrate their budgets. It is also important to mention that the habit of saving money is acquired through classes which that type of contents are discussed, therefore, it is a practice that require training and effort; however, the benefits such as saving money for personal projects is worth it. Another aspect to mention is the economic independence obtained by the development of financial tools since children can have the opportunity to analyze their own spends and be responsible for them. Nonetheless, some educational institutions could reject the idea of changing their traditional curriculums, which includes classes about languages, mathematics, and history, for example. Certainly, no one can refuse the importance of studying these fundamental contents impossible to replace. However, economy lessons could be taken as an additional subject, taught with innovative resources. To conclude, a modification within the traditional education system takes time, nevertheless, it is necessary. I recommend a significant adaptation of school curriculums according to the current requirements as a way to prepare children for important financial decisions in the future.