Nowadays most green energy is becoming ever more prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security.

Energy is the major driving force of the world. Nations are looking at alternative sources to fulfill the power needs, which is although cost effective and eco friendly it is argued that it also makes countries energy insecure, I disagree to it. This essay will discuss benefits of moving away from un-natural sources and also potential problems related to it with relevant examples to support my points. On the one hand, there is ample evidence that green energy leads is cheaper and causes less damage to environment is a gaining popularity rapidly. The central reason for this, they are naturally available to us and easily replenished. In addition to this, it is available at cheaper price due to easy availability. For example, Hydro and solar energy are boundless as they are drawn from nature and is inexpensive as compared to electricity generated from coal and gas. Therefore it is conclusively clear that owing to its non-pollutant nature and low cost it is looked as an efficient substitute by advanced as well as emerging economies. On the other hand, although there is a case for sustainable energy being an alternate, the argument of it being threat to energy security cannot be understated. In order to cater to the necessities of citizens, military of a country countries refuse to share their resources to other who could not produce sufficient amounts of it. This leads to sudden changes of supply-demand balance. To illustrate this, China imports high amount of thermal power from their neighboring countries due to new environment laws of having a cap on production of non-renewable energy which oversaw a halt from them citing insufficiency for their own requirements. Thus it is possible to state that migrating to natural resources might pose a threat to several nations certainty of supply. To conclude, despite being a menace to surety of energy to many nations, in my opinion the long term benefits to the habitat and short term advantages to people eclipses the disadvantages associated in using clean and green power.