Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

A fresh new study shows that there is an increasing trend of doing business meetings and trainings online. This paradigm shift has both positive and negative consequences, and this essay will demonstrate both. One of the many advantages of virtual meetings is helping the organization to be more cost-efficient. Companies and businesses have greatly reduced their expenses in organizing face-to-face meetings and events because they no longer have to book the location of the venue, neither to spend money in foods. For example, company who organizes trainings and seminars need to allocate big portions of their budget to find venues that can accommodate hundreds of participants. Through online events, this is no longer needed since all participants will have to attend virtually. Another advantage is that online gatherings are perhaps the most convenient and time saving mode of communication. Through the help of modern technology and the rise of communication applications, such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams, many people can attend meetings and seminars wherever part of the world they live in without physically being there. On the contrary, the trend does not come without its drawbacks. One of the main disadvantages of interactive communication is the lack of physical interaction. Since meetings are done virtually, there is no interaction between humans except audio and visual. Furthermore, online meeting can make the participants focus less because of various distractions such as background noises and slow internet connection. To illustrate, online meetings in our organization have many participants in every part of the world. However, we encounter different kinds of disruptions during our meetings like poor audio or automatically dropping out of the meeting due to bad internet connections. As a result, some attendees cannot properly participate in our conferences, and sometimes, there is a need to reschedule the meetings. To conclude, research have shown that nowadays, more and more businesses are doing online meetings and seminar due to its advantages such as being cost-efficient, time-saving, and convenient. Nevertheless, it also has some disadvantages like no physical interaction and less concentration from its participants because of unavoidable disruptions.