Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

Nowadays only small number of students knows about the importance of money, how to save and spend it wisely. Most of these children were not taught the value of money at home, thus I strongly agree that schools should teach this fundamental life skill so that children know how to be independent and responsible financially. Parents want the best for their children, however it becomes a reason to make them spoiled their children like giving all the things that need and want. As a consequence, these children will be dependent on their family and may spend their parent’s hard-earned money because they are not the ones who worked for it and they do not know its value. That is why schools should organize programs to teach these kids to become independent financially and ask parents as well to cooperate. Students and parents should participate in school fare where the main focus of the program is to impart knowledge on how to be responsible and independent about budgeting money. Abraham Lincoln said “Teach the children so it will not be necessary to teach the adults”. Some parents are busy at work and they have no time to tackle financial management at home. Schools should include and teach financial management to students even at young age, it would be a great start to know the significance of money and how it works in the real world. As a result once they have work and receiving salary, they will know how to allocate budget and spend first for the basic necessities and they will not spend more than what they earn, they will be financial literate and stable to survive in the crucial world. Although there are things in life to be learned at home, I believe that parents need help to develop their children in many aspects, especially in this fast-phased world. As children spend most time in school, it would be great if financial management system will be taught at school to educate the children how to be independent and responsible so even when they become adults and experience struggles financially, they would able to survive as they have foundation on how to handle and save money.