vehicles are banned from the city center on vehicle free days and people are more encouraged to use public transport. Discuss merits and demerits

As the result of modernization, people are more inclined towards automobiles for more comfort. With the increased utilization of the automobiles pollution comes along. For this reason, vehicles are banned from the city center on vehicle free days and people are more encouraged to use public transport. This essay, discusses about merits along with some demerits of using this scheme. As pollution is the major concern of the ecosystem and automobile burning is the major contributing factor in this, introduction of vehicle free days every then and now is appreciable. It will result in less private cars, trucks and moto cycles which will further lead to decline of the road traffic around the city. For an instance, a great initiative is made by the Government of Delhi for passing odd-even system which is a contributing factor in decreasing traffic and air pollution in Delhi. Despite this advantages, I believe this idea has a large number of disadvantages. As banning private cars, trucks or motorcycles every then and now is not much effective instead it will lead to pressure on the public transport tremendously. This scheme is effective but only up to a small extent. It has already created a lot of hurdles for the office going people who have to use public transport to go to their offices. In addition to this, private transport trucks who are to transport goods are in delay and is struggling. In conclusion, I do not think that vehicle free days are a temporary solution to the problem of pollution. Government must come up with a new scheme so as to overcome this disadvantage and protect from pollution.