Vegetarianism – Lets change the destiny of humankind.

Food is any substance that is consumed to provide energy to an organism. Energy can be derived by either natural substances or animal products or even both. Food is something which binds all humans and other creatures together. Based on their eating choices, people can be categorically divided into vegetarians and non-vegetarians. This paper will argue why an individual should adapt vegetarianism over non vegetarianism. WHAT IS VEGETARIANISM OR A VEGETARIAN DIET? The Oxford Dictionary defines a vegetarian as "the one who eats a diet that consists of fruits, vegetable and dairy products". This diet wholly comprises of natural products such as vegetables, seeds, nuts, and animal products such as milk rather than animal meat, chicken and eggs. This diet contains an adequate amount of proteins, vitamins, calcium, potassium, iron, proteins, fats, and carbohydrates. Indian mythology talks of three kinds of diets, Satvik, Rajasik and Tamsik. Vegetarian diet consists of the qualities of Satvik bhojan that are purity, essence of the nature and vitality, among others. This was the food of the Hindu Kings like Lord Rama, Lord Krishna, the Pandavas and the Kauravas and was also consumed by the Saints and Brahmins. Contrary to this, non-vegetarian diet includes eggs, meat, chicken, pork, fish, and beef which also provides protein and vitamins. But the question is, when the nature is providing food to eat then why do humans have to kill or hunt animals to satisfy their hunger? HEALTH BENEFITS OF VEGETARIAN DIET Contemporary researches have proved that vegetarians are more healthy than non-vegetarians. Vegetarians are less prone to acute and chronic diseases. They have a healthier BMI (Body Mass Index), controlled blood pressure, low cholesterol levels and lower risk of diabetes as well. Along with this, the life expectancy of a vegetarian is more than a non-vegetarian. All this is because a vegetarian consumes all the essential components that the body requires. Ludwig Feuerbach, a German philosopher, claimed, “What we are is what we eat”. This implies that whatever a person consumes, defines their personality. Non-vegetarian food mainly consists of animal flesh. The concept of food chain shows the transfer of energy from one trophic level to another. Since the energy consumed at each level is deducted by ten percent, a vegetarian diet is more natural and nutritious in nature than non-vegetarian diet, because it is directly consumed by the person without involving any trophic level. SOCIAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONSTRUCT OF VEGETARIANISM Statistically, India comprises twenty percent of vegetarians and eighty percent of non-vegetarians. The ratio is much lower than suggested claims and stereotypes. Apart from Muslims, Christians and Sikhs, Hindus too are adjusting non vegetarian diet in their lifestyle. In Hindu dharma eating animal flesh is considered as violence against animals. Also, consuming flesh is viewed same as consuming the flesh of one's own offspring and to eat this would make one the most despicable of human beings. Human beings think that this planet earth entirely belongs to them, however that is not the truth. Humans are a part of the nature just like any other creature such as plants and animals. Killing animals just for the sake of our hunger is a bad alternative chosen by humans. Why no one thinks about the environment, the nature, animals do have families too? Separating their family just to grab one meal is something an individual should avoid and think over. Why cannot humans simply switch their diets to something which brings balance to the nature? PERSPECTIVES ABOUT VEGETARIANS Families and culture play a crucial role in determining the child’s diet. Usually parents expect their children to eat what they eat rather than allowing their children to decide which diet they want to choose. In spite of consuming the diet for stability of physical and mental health, they end up consuming food such as pizza, burgers, fries and other junk which are comparatively very unhealthy and are prepared with extra oil, salt and spices. Another reason why non vegetarians are reluctant to switch to a vegetarian diet could be the misconceptions about vegetarian food and lifestyle. Many people tend to believe that vegetarian food tastes bad which makes the food uninteresting for an individual to consume. Other people visualize vegetarians as unhealthy, skinny, and lethargic which is not even true as mentioned above. Many Indians believe that vegetarian diet could be a good option only when they want to lose weight and not to adapt this diet in their lifestyle. To conclude, as human beings it is high time to stop being selfish and cruel towards animals and start thinking about the creatures as they are a part of the environment too. This planet earth belongs equally to all the animals as it does to humans. Now it is time to create global peace. It is time to think about the nature because if humans would not take care of the nature then nature will not take care of them. It is not just about saving our planet but, it is all about saving ourselves. Avoid consuming animal flesh to reduce the risks of flu, viruses, and cancer because each life matters. All humans need to do is to become a species in balance with nature.