Various types of skills, which people were utilizing to carry out their personal needs at home, are becoming scarce these days

Various types of skills, which people were utilizing to carry out their personal needs at home, are becoming scarce these days. Reduced leisure time, globalized mass production of goods, and modern technologies, are indeed the main reasons behind the fact. Although, on average, individual’s income has grown over the recent decades, careers have become very much competitive. It does not matter, whether one is employed or working on his own, he has to improve and update his proficiency, because things are changing too fast. That’s why people need to spend more time on their specific field of profession, even when they are at home. So, the leisure time is fiercely lessened compared to the old days. In other words, singles or couples have less free time to spend on making or repairing things at their home. Globalization has dramatically raised production scales and as a result, price and availability of particular goods such as clothes has relatively reduced, comparing to the income, assuming two identical items. That means it is no longer worth it to make a clothes at home. Whereas, enormous models of textiles, in glamorous design and various fibers, are available at the nearest shopping mall. Times was when, my father could disassemble all parts of a washing machine and fix it up in our house’s yard. While, nowadays nearly all mechanical parts of a modern washing machine are controlled by a sophisticated electronic-board. Accordingly, home appliances are not anymore simple-design to be fix up by the owner, but needs specialist to do repairs to them with special tools and techniques. Presently, above-mentioned situations coincide in all developed countries and in most developing ones as well as in my country, which is among the second group. In conclusion, shorter leisure time, abundance of various makes plus comparatively more affordability of goods such as textiles, and design complexity of household devices, are the main determinant factors causing disappearance of many domestic skills.