Various technologies such as Google translate and grammarly can help you communicate in different languages. Do you think students are still required to learn foreign languages in a traditional approach?

Nowadays, the advancement in machine translation is being made at such a breakneck pace that some people fear that it will soon render the attempt to learn foreign languages pointless. In my opinion, students are still required to learn foreign languages for the reasons below. The practical upshot of language is that if you stick one in your ear, you can instantly understand anything said to you in any form of language. I think truly communication with someone entails much more than simply a literal translation of words. Language is complex, constantly changing and it is bounded up with our culture, identity and the way we see the world. When we use words, idioms and metaphors, wordplay and often draw on cultural nuances to make connections and express ourselves, it is impossible to accurately convey through machine translation alone. As a matter of fact, current translating machines are solely proficient at providing detailed meanings of single word. When it comes to translating a long phrase or sentence, nevertheless, the results are likely to become an object of ridicule because of its comprehensibility. In this case, there is no difficulty to humans as their brains are agile enough to comprehend the metaphor given by the speaker, something machine translations are incapable of. Without updates on a regular basic, machines tend to become obsolete and useless. Moreover, most of machine translations need internet connection so if someone is in rush and have no internet connection, he will face difficulty. What is more, machine translation is unable to translate from different file formats such as PDF, DOC, TXT, etc. To conclude, although machine translation is free and good for rush projects, there is still room for development. It is still necessary for students to learn foreign languages since there is hardly an alternative for now.