Value of compound interest

What if I tell you by just investing 500 rupees per month for the next 20 years you can more than 30 lakhs rupees(with 10 per cent return). Would you believe it? This is called compound interest. Compound interest is the interest on a deposit calculated based on both the initial principal and the accumulated interest from previous periods. In simple words, money making money for you. So your investment would be 1. 2 lakhs for 20 years but your returns are way higher than your investment. BUT WHY IS IT IMPORTANT? Compound interest causes your wealth to grow faster. It makes a sum of money grow at a faster rate than simple interest because you will earn returns on the money you invest. In the current world where inflation is booming at 6-7 per cent, compound interest is a way to overcome the expenditures. Moreover, in India people tend to save their income. But looking at the current scenario savings are only giving losses to a person. For instance, if a person saves 100 rupees, they will end up at 94 rupees because of inflation. On the other hand, if that person invests their money, they will get around 10 per cent of returns. Secondly, the more time, the more growth potential. Compound investment requires a lot of patience and discipline. The more we when put the better it gets. For example by starting investment at the age of 20 for the next 20 years and by not touching that money for the next 20 years, you have already secured your retirement plan.