Validity and reliability Analysis of multiple choice item evaluation instrument for measuring HOTS in the context of general chemistry

Providing valid and reliable items is necessary for the instrument evaluation tool. The instrument which is being used at school is lacked measuring students’ higher-order thinking skills (HOTS). This study examined the validity and reliability of developed multiple-choice item evaluation instruments for measuring higher-order thinking skills. The instrument test was developed based on the cognitive domain of Bloom’s Taxonomy. It consists of 45 multiple choice items and was distributed randomly to 151 senior high school students. The method was conducted by using a quantitative method which consists of three phases: Content Validity by inter-rater agreement, Construct validity by principal component analysis (PCA), and Reliability shown by Chronbach Alpha. The students’ outcomes were analyzed The content validity by inter-rater agreement found that the instrument was categorized as valid. The construct validity by PCA found that each item in the evaluation instrument measured one-dimensionality which good to be used as an evaluation instrument test. The instrument was found to have a high degree of reliability with Chronbach Alpha of 0, 94. The multiple-choice item was found to be good for measuring HOTS by comparing the outcomes and skills of the students. From the result of this study, a valid and reliable multiple-choice item evaluation instrument has been produced and the items were properly proved to be good for measuring HOTS.