Using social media as Facebook, Twitter is replacing face-to-face communication in this century. Do yiu think advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The invention of social media has changed the lifestyle and habits of human beings. Today even the face-to-face communication is being substituted by such social networking sites as Twitter, Facebook and others. Despite the extreme popularity among the mankind, in my opinion, the disadvantages of using social media are considerably superior to the advantages that it has. On the one hand, social networking sites allow people to communicate all over the world. In other words, they are able to keep in touch with their family, relatives and friends from a distance, even if they are on the other side of the world. Moreover, social media can unite individuals with the similar interests and problems, disturbing them. For example, the social sites, as Facebook and Instagram have an online community of people, suffering from the diabetes, where they discuss the common disease and help each other by giving appropriate advice, share their experience and recommendations. Additionally, social networking sites help individuals to be aware of the current events and trend happening in the world. It means, people are informed by daily news, recent innovations in different spheres of life, climate change and forthcoming natural disasters. On the other hand, what a serious harm social media can do is to destroy social skills. Those people who spent most of their time on using social sites, neglect to truly express their feelings orally, keep eye-contact and hear others' voice and speech. Also, social media cannot fully strengthen the interpersonal relationships of humans. That is to say, the access to Internet and mobile phones caused people to forget about a real life communication, as they prefer chatting with their friends and relatives relatives online rather that organising meetings or joint pastimes. As a result, they gradually drift apart, thereby endangering their relationships, which, in fact, should have a special position in their lives. But, a much more threat, resulting from social networking sites, is, probably, being exposed to cyber bullying. In the this case, bullies try to ashame or frighten their victims by posting embarrassing photos, spreading different disgraceful rumors, sending insulting messages and threats. Consequently, those, who suffered from these kind of abuse, tend to have a lower self-esteem and serious psychological shock, but in a severe cases they are expected to commit a suicide. In conclusion, although social media have benefited people to some extent, its drawbacks and threats extremely outweigh the positive sides.