Using mobile phone in school

Mobile phones are one of the great inventions and high technology items in this modern era. They have become some of the most indispensable objects in our daily life as technology becomes more and more advanced. Nowadays, most people from teenagers to the elderly have personal mobile phones of their own. Many schools limit or restrict the use of mobile phones. However, there are students who ignore the rules and continue to bring along their mobile phones to school despite the restriction. In my opinion, mobile phones should not be allowed in schools. What are the factors then? First, mobile phones will bring about distractions to students. In the past, bored student generally entertained themselves with doodling or whispering about anything that came to mind. Today, students relieve boredom with the ubiquitous mobile phones. Students engrossed in the mobile phones are unable to pay attention in class. For example, they are distracted when their friends send them text messages and they attempt to reply under their desks. Other than that, they can also play games, browse the Internet, check and update their Facebook pages and so on. In other words, they usually use the mobile phones for non-educational purposes during the class. This can hardly help them perform better academically. In fact, this can bring forth adverse effects on their performance. Another reason why mobile phones should be prohibited in schools is because students are able to cheat during examinations using those electronic gadgets. They do so by sending to each other text messages with answers to the questions. They can also store their notes and relevant information on their phones and look at them secretly during tests. It is also possible for them to cheat by using search engines such as Google, Yahoo, Bing, et cetera to search for the information that they want. Students always find ways to cheat during examinations as the tools they have are getting more and more powerful today. Since the digital world is hard to track, students are less likely to face the consequences of their actions. They always assume that they will not get caught. Furthermore, mobile phones can easily be lost or stolen in schools. This is one of the reasons why they are forbidden. If students are allowed to bring mobile phones to school, they do so at their own risk. The schools accept no responsibility for damage or loss to mobile phones in school. Apart from that, mobile phone addiction is a major drawback. Students addicted to mobile phones cannot do without using them, even when they are in class. If the schools permit them to use mobile phones at school, their addiction will very likely worsen. They surf inappropriate websites, post pictures or videos during class. Their undesirable actions will certainly influence or affect other students. In a nutshell, mobile phones should be banned and not allowed in school. The disadvantages of allowing them in schools far outweighs the advantages. It is the students' responsibility to study hard and be attentive when teacher is teaching. Students should aim for good results in examinations so as to better prepare themselves for their future. Since mobile phones prevent them from doing so and distracts them when they are in class, I do not agree that mobile phones should be allowed in schools.