Usage of GM foods advantages and disadvantages

With the exponential increase in world population it has become necessary to use GM foods to ensure survival. There are a number of advantages of using GM crops to ensure nutrition. GM foods can be customized to prevent the attack of pests and this would ensure minimal or zero usage of pesticide. This would help in reducing pollution. GM crops can provide multiple nutrients from the same crop which would assist to deliver all necessary nutrients for the human body from the same plant. GM crops plantation ensure optimum usage of resources and maintaining ecological balance. With the advent of technology, genetic make up of various crops can be positively reconstructed to provide immunity from various diseases. Even though modified plants have a multitude of advantages there are a set of cons which need to be discussed. Restructuring the genetic make up of plants may result in the extinction of the original plant. Domination of modified plants would result in entire families of plants being wiped out from the planet and may cause serious threat to the environment. Intellectual property rights and patents would prevent farmers across the world access to cultivating GM crops and this would result in a divide. There is another hidden risk in consuming GM crops as the modified genetic structure of the plant may communicate negatively with the human body which may prove fatal.