Urban areas are witnessing an increase in obesity among children What are reasons Suggest some solutions

In recent years, rise in the number of overweight children has been noticed. The problem is clearly seen in the urban areas that children are putting weight at an early age which has large number of problems related to personal life and health. This essay provides the reasons behind increasing number of obese children and recommends the efforts required to curb this problem as well. To begin with, there are several reasons contributing in widespread of obesity among young children but the most important one is lack of physical exercise. To explain, today due to urbanization the open space and playgrounds have vanished. So, there is no opportunity for children to play outside or outdoors. This leads to more children are inclined towards playing computer games and watching television that results in severe problems like obesity and diabetes. Yet another factor of shortage of outdoor activities is the prolonged working and study hours, as with the burden of heavy curriculum, children find it difficult to spare time for games or sports which intensify the problem. Moreover, poor food habits in this hectic life are culprit of inclining child obesity rates. For example, kids today prefer to eat fast food like burger, pizza and soft drinks. These are high in calorie and loaded with synthetic chemicals that have bad effect on health. Parents are giving such food due to lack of time. However, to control this menace, little efforts from parents and government are needed. First of all, children must be provided enough time to play outdoors and parents must encourage children to participate in sports. Such activities are physically demanding and are healthy for growing children. Furthermore, children must be nourished with healthy diet and fast food consumption should be discouraged. Apart from this, government should provide adequate facilities to each city like sports club, parks, playgrounds so that children get opportunity to involve in healthy activities. Overall, it is seen that the reasons for obesity lie in the life style of people. It is possible to control this effectively with combined efforts of people and government.