Some people think children are more successful in foreign language studies than adults Discuss

Learning foriegn language has become necessity to survive in this global era. Although some people opine that it is easy to learn a new language for adults, others say that age factor plays a considerable role in learning a foreign language. I believe that it is much easier for children to acquire a new language than it is for adults and particularly elderly people. To begin with, it is a fact that children’s minds are more receptive, they instantaneously absorb knowledge of any topic. Due to their developing acquisition skills, learning a new language is a piece of cake for them. At this age their mind is free from worries and real life tensions which fosters their ability to grasp new information. For instance, a toddler is quick to pick up a language that is specifically spoken by his parents. As a result, absence of any pre knowledge leads to retain new language in them. On the contrary, adults who are having a lot of information, job stress and family responsibilities, which distract them from the process of learning. In other words, their preoccupied mind hinders their concentration and language learning process. For example, a tired mind from a job if attending language courses in the evening cannot focus on learning effectively. Undoubtedly, there are some intelligent adults who are fast learners but such people are often a rare exception. So, younger people in turn are more active in learning things effectively. In conclusion, I believe that the learning curve declines with age and learning a foriegn language is quite a challenging task. Young people are naturally better learners than adults or elderly people.