Upload a brief essay (300-500 words) highlighting your academic and personal goals related to your intended field of study. Identify any special interest(s) you would like to pursue. Review the website for your intended field of study for potential specific essay prompts.

The enigmatic working of a human body intrigued and inspired me to choose biology as my major in high school. However, as I began programming as a pastime after high school, I was enthralled by the capability to embody my imagination through programming. Thus, I dropped out of medical preparation school and enrolled in the Computer Engineering degree. Ultimately, I developed an inclination towards Data Science and Machine Learning and resolved to apply the algorithms in the medical field. Working at Deerwalk Inc. (currently Cedar Gate Technologies) bolstered my interest in Data Science and Machine Learning and gave me a new perspective. Initially, I worked on big-data manipulation and processing US healthcare data as a Software Engineer. Now, I am a Project Manager of two teams simultaneously: the Scrub Engine Team (the team in which I worked as a Software Engineer) and the Data Business Analyst Team. Both positions provided me with insights into the data analytics and medical industries, which helped solidify my visions. Unlike my current company, which serves insurance companies, I intend to build a patient-centered program to increase medical accessibility in areas with minimal medical practitioners. Identifying the correlation of different symptoms with diseases, analyzing multiple reports such as CT scans to train machines, and suggesting appropriate medicines considering variables such as allergies are some areas I would like to research. Due to a delayed diagnosis owing to the prevalent pandemic, my mother's diabetic retinopathy worsened. This event bolstered my motivation and implied the exigency of such technology. To cite a particular topic, I would like to research to generate simulated eye X-rays suffering from diabetic retinopathy and eventually train machines to perform Computer-Aided Diagnosis (CAD). Medical data are expensive and arduous to accumulate due to privacy issues. Thus, we could develop a system that diagnoses diabetic retinopathy patients with synthetic data generated by algorithms like a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN). To supplement these kinds of research, I also intend to foster my skills in image analysis and big data processing. I believe the University of Maine would be an optimum choice to achieve my goals. The MS degree in Computer Science possesses the courses I want to build my expertise. Also, the emphasis given to research activities by UMaine reinforces my discretions. The research interests of Dr. Terry S. Yoo seem to align with mine. Additionally, the research on Online Feature Selection of Big Data Sets and High-Dimensional Network Structure Learning With Applications in Biology by Dr. Salimeh Yasaei Sekeh piqued my interest. It would be an honor to work and concentrate under professors like Dr. Terry S. Yoo and Dr. Salimeh Yasaei Sekeh, which will improve my comprehension of the subject and give me the edge I need to turn into a fruitful scholar in this field. I guarantee that my perseverance, persistence, and urge to excel would drive me to make an exceptional commitment to the University.