Unpaid community services

It has been suggested that high school students involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of high school programmes. I agree with this suggestion but it should be with some priorities consideration, I see that volunteering work help both the student and the society because student gain a lot of skills from different experiences, dealing with different people and facing problems to solve it. It also makes him a responsible person who knows that he should provide services to gain skills, information and a big network. But, we should consider that the student has other sides in his life like studying, researching, playing and traveling. So, volunteering work should not negatively affect these sides in his life, but he can do these activities in his free time like weekends or days he chose them. We also do not need student to do that because it is a must! He should know the benefits he can get from that. In my own life, Volunteering is an important thing to do, I have made an unpaid intiviate for spreading the awareness of mental health in my country with a lot of other volunteers. It is the best experience I have got, I have learned a lot about management and psychology. That helps me in my studying because this is my field and I feel satisfied because I provide services to others. To sum up, although unpaid community services seem like waste of time and effort, It is the best time and effort if you make the best use of it.