Is owning a house really vital and necessary?

Real estate market has always been one of the most vibrant and expensive in almost every country. From my observations, instead of renting a house, most people in Vietnam would like to possess at least one, and I hold a strong belief that a similar trend is also going on in various regions. However, it would be much safer to state that this is not a binary question, as (the answer of “Is owning a house really vital and necessary? ”) an individual’s preference of owning a home depends on a multitude of factors. Being an owner is better than being a renter as long as the living conditions stay at least the same. The living conditions here consist of both the essential services, such as electricity, water, and healthcare and the services that the owner may afford based on his preferences like restaurants and gyms. Bearing these in mind, the initial question now may be derived into two main parts: availability and affordability. Availability includes everything that is located near the house, or is provided with the house, from the public services like education, nearby airports, traffic system to the optional ones like restaurants and coffee shops. For most of the cases, there is not so much difference here between possessing and renting a house in terms of availability as it mostly relates to external factors. For affordability, the lines become clearer, where renting provides a more economical solution as it requires a lot more to purchase a house. However, owning a house also gives a wider range of options to customize it, rather than the limited choices available for rented properties. In addition, possessing real estate is considered as a symbol of success, which is also important, despite its invisibility. In conclusion, after assessing both sides of the argument, I would say that despite owning a house provides more benefits than renting one, it should not always be the top priority, especially when the financial situation is not stable and suitable to purchase one.