University students should not be required to attend classes. Instead they should be able to receive credits through a final test or paper.

Some people suppose that it is desirable to make attending classes optional for university students. In my opinion, I believe that this trend could have both positive and negative sides. Therefore, instead of attending class regularly, students may also receive credits only by taking a final test. To begin with, it is believed that students are well-advised to attend classes regularly. I assume that going to class gives students a chance to learn, which is the point of college. In case, if students do not attend classes, they may lose ample opportunities to get knowledge. For instance, professors sometimes give information that is not available in the textbook but is based on their experience and then organize class discussions for students to enhance valuable skills such as teamwork and communication skills. In addition, students can have a chance to ask questions immediately in the class and the professors can provide explanations. Meanwhile, people who skip classes will miss these chances to interact with the professors and other classmates. On the other hand, students are not always required to study in classrooms as I suppose that they can totally learn by themselves. For example, students can enhance knowledge via textbooks given by the professors. In case they are struggling with some specialized subjects, they may go online to search for information supporting their assignments. Besides, learning by themselves could save a wealth of time and money. Instead of attending classes every day, from morning till afternoon, they can have a chance to find part-time jobs to improve soft skills and earn money for their living. At the end of the semester, they still have an opportunity to take a final test to receive credits as long as they can ensure the knowledge they absorb throughout the learning process.