5 disadvantages of Urban Living

We know that urban areas have been developing from time to time. So many factors, including, the promise of job opportunities and prosperity as well as the modern life pull people to urban cities. In the article above, the author first explains what urban living is and how it is different from rural living in general. According to Matt Mar, urban living is something that is completely different from the old life that people used to live before. Only the big cities and towns provide urban living, not in the farming or ranching communities in the countryside and people have to become accustomed to living in various lifestyles in urban areas. Now matter how great and up-to-date life is and how many opportunities urban living provides, it also has so many disadvantages and problems that have to be solved. The five most essential problems are discussed in the article above. The first issue that people in urban areas come across is lack of privacy. Since urban cities provide little space and the nightlife is always available and living in a flat or apartment is common, privacy is reduced greatly. We can figure out that all the factors stated above have been causing crime, burglary, and threats that make the big cities dangerous. Another problem is sky high rent prices. Since big cities provide more job opportunities, more and more people have been emigrating there. In consequence, there will be a huge demand for apartments which causes a rise in prices. In addition, we all know that the purchases are even more expensive in urban areas than in suburban and rural ones. In the article we can understand that lack of open and green spaces is also a big issue. Although there are several parks and open spaces available for people to rest and get rid of stress, they still lack fresh air while in rural areas we can do health promoting activities in abundance. Pollution is absolutely one of the most important problems. All the gases from transport, factories and other sources of pollutants, lack of plants and trees as well as the pollution by individuals have been causing lack of clean air and oxygen. We can understand that this may cause various diseases in our heart and lungs. Additionally, lack of community is also a big issue in urban areas while it is totally absent in rural ones. We can discover that people in big cities are always busy with their own problems and jobs and pay no attention to their neighbors, friends and families. The sense of community is completely necessary that can prevent us from many problems that society may face. To sum up, in the article we can understand that although big cities provide many opportunities, they also have so many problems that should be solved. Otherwise, they may create even bigger issues.