University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I agree with the given statement that students should study a range of subjects at university and not focus on only one major. A number of arguments surround my opinion. There are many advantages, for students, of studying a number of subjects. The first and foremost advantage is that if they don’t get a job in their field they will be able to get any job related to their other subjects. They will not suffer unemployment and they will not be stuck to menial jobs despite being highly qualified. Moreover, a well-rounded education is very important in today’s time. Without a diverse background, a graduate will not be competent in any job. For example, excellent communication skills are very important while looking for a job. For that you need a basic English class. Most jobs require problemsolving skills which you get from basic knowledge of math and science. For instance, a doctor specializing in MRI scan, needs to have a good knowledge of physics – magnetism etcetera. Another advantage is that learning a range of subjects can add spice to the students’ studies. Students may be fed up with study when they concentrate on one subject constantly. Finally, it is well known that most of the subjects are linked to each other, to some extent. With a range of knowledge, students can find different solutions to approach the problems they encounter either at work or in life, which will definitely make them more creative and innovative in the field they specialize in. Clearly, the students with all-round knowledge have an apparent advantage over those specializing in only one subject. Opponents claim that studying only one subject at university would make you a master in that field and you stand a chance of getting a high-paid job in that field. However, I still believe that that studying a range of subjects has an edge over specializing in just one. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion by saying that studying a variety of subjects is beneficial to the university students. In this case, not only can the students better themselves, but also become adaptable and flexible in the increasingly challenging and competitive world. It is advisable that students spend time learning more subjects instead of focusing on one specific subject, so that they can prepare themselves for the global society.