People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

Nowadays, people are more likely to consume high caloric drinks laced with an alarming level of sugar content, which has a detrimental effect on people's health, especially on the youngsters. Our lifestyle, globalization, advertisement industries-all contribute to this harmful trend seen among the youth, and we all need to work along with the government to triumph this pressing issue. There are various reasons for the growing intake of sugar-based drinks among the young generation. Firstly, people are more likely to be influenced by the advertisements displayed on television, social networking sites, and other modes of communication. And the business conglomerates have taken advantage of this situation; they hire social icons, actors, prominent sports-persons to promote their unhealthy sugar-based drinks. Even though these celebrities do not consume any carbonated drinks personally, they advocate for these drinks for a mere monetary gain, which the general population often fail to perceive. In addition to that, due to globalization, people tend to follow cultures from different countries, which indeed has many benefits; however, imbibing a culture without understanding the implication is proved to be doing more harm than good. For example, carbonated drink, popularly known as 'soft-drink, ' was first introduced by America, where it is a challenging task to grow any vegetables during the winter season; hence, they need to preserve foods, drinks, etc. for the rest of the year. Consumption of these sugar-based drinks, at the permitted level, can provide the required energy for them. But for tropical regions, it is not a requirement at all. To prevent the unnecessary sugar intake, the government must regulate the production, selling, procuring, distributing of these drinks. Public awareness is paramount in this case. The administration must impose a ban on promoting these drinks, and the promoters should be held responsible for any adverse effect of the drinks on the community. Moreover, the local authority must promote their products, such as coconut water or apple cider, to replace these harmful chemically preserved drinks. In conclusion, public awareness and proper law enforcement can prevent this social phenomenon which will have long term adversary effect on the people.