There is no doubt that because of globalization and advancements in technology we can communicate better with people in different parts of the world.

There is no doubt that because of globalization and advancements in technology we can communicate better with people in different parts of the world. Nowadays, social networks, such as Facebook and Instagam, have a significant role in our lives as they are part of the routine of the majority of people in almost all societies. Although there are disadvantages of having these networking, the benefits of using these apps outweigh the negatives. It is my firm belief that these sites and apps contribute positively to people's life. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs. To begin with, globalization makes people more connected and it decreases physical barriers. For these reasons, it is indispensable that we can easily communicate with people from different countries. My experience has taught me that social media is the best way of achieving this. In 2010, I traveled around Asia and I made friends. Unfortunately, it was really difficult to sustain a relationship with the local people after returning home. At that time the only way of connecting with them was by phone. It was not practical and it was expensive, so I lost contact with all the people that I met. Some years later, I traveled around South America and I also met many people. However, this time I could build a long term relationship with them because of social media. My new friends and I became friends on Facebook and when I was back home I was easily sending them photos and messages. I think that it is incredible and necessary to have this kind of contact and the best way of doing this is by social media. Moreover, I definitely think that as a society is really important to be connected to people from different parts of the world. This way we are more informed about what is happening around us and we can think not only at the local level, but also in the world as one. My father said that before social media, he was immersed just in the local culture. After creating an account on Facebook, he started to follow international leaders that were sharing information about how to make better decisions. After getting their tips, my father started to apply this advice in his routine. After a while, many people around him also did it, and most of the people in his town have a new behavior which impacted positively to their lives. To conclude, I strongly believe that if you are not using social media, you are losing the opportunity to build strong relationships with people that are far from you, and you're totally limited to information in the area that you live.