university students are not choosing study science.why

Model Answer: Nowadays, students at tertiary level are not opting to intake science and this trend is becoming more and more common. This essay intends to delve into the cause and effect of this trend. To investigate the reasons, first and foremost, in my opinion, is the backdated curricula. In most schools, the way STMs (science, technology and math) are taught has become outmoded. Students, in most cases, learn these subjects just only through theories rather than hands-on experiment, which in turn leave little room for elation. Second, primary school teachers’ skills set are not good enough to stimulate young learners’ interest in science. Consequently, a substantial number of students are likely to have a weak foundation in science as a whole. Thus, they do not opt for science in tertiary education. Third, science stream very often requires strenuous intellectual effort and hard work. This may also dissuade many students from selecting science majors at university. The reluctance in studying science leads to the shortage of professionals in the field, which might cause catastrophic impacts. Let me clarify this with an example. If there is a shortage of medical students, then there will be a scarcity of doctors or surgeons. Thereby, it would be nearly impossible to combat against pandemic diseases like COVID-19, Plague, and so forth. Likewise, the dearth of technology experts might bring advancement in technology to a standstill; which would also put formidable obstacles on the road to the prosperity of mankind. To conclude, an increasing number of students is reluctant to choose science in university and higher education. Several reasons such as outdated syllabus, inept school teachers, contribute to this phenomenon. However, the trend would spell doom for mankind. So, we should take whatever actions are necessary to curb this issue.