university students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Many university students routinely study in other institues around the world as part of their degrees. Although students will often struggle with caltural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they will also gain significant life experiences that will reward them later on in their careers. In my opinion, students are far better off having studied in a different country despite the challenges that they will inevitably face. The greatest benefit of studying abroad is that students will have life experiences that will improve themselves as people that would have been otherwise impossible if they had have only studied in their own countries. Being in another country requires people to push themeselves beyond the norm into unusually difficult experiences. For example, when i studied in Indonesia and India as a tewnty-year-old, I was continually pushed out of my comfort zone into psychological states that were unique and novel and that I had to adopt np matter what. These ultra-challenging experiences are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas because they make you grow as a person. The main challenges that students will face while overseas will usually stem from cultural and linguistic differences. These differences can pose massive obstacles for people because they require one to move beyond the familiar and into the unknown which can often be awkward and quite scary. For instanse, while studying in Indonesia I had to frequently make a fool of myself in order to communicate with the local people in their language. Oftentimes, I felt embarresed and I longed to speak English and be in the familiarity of my own culture. Studying overseas has become incredibly common. While students will no doubt experience social and language barriers, It is in fact these barriers that lead to the main advantage of studying abroad which is pesonal growth. As a contradiction of sorts, It is the hardship that ultimately makes the experience of studying abroad more advantageous than disadvantageous.