Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Some people are of the opinion that modern life makes the global citizen more dependent on others. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that we are more stand on our own feet and free from dependency on others as time has progressed. Individually, I believe that this is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn. On the one hand, it is generally believed that the more arduous and expensive life is, the less self-sufficient we are. This is mainly because the living expenses such as school fees, accommodation, and daily commodities have dramatically soared constantly, so we should rely on our parents to adapt to our daily needs until getting a decent job. Furthermore, with the complicated and specialized tasks, teamwork and collaboration among different departments are more important than individual accomplishments. To put it simply, there are several running reasons connected with the reliance on each other lately. On the other hand, it is factual that technological advances have made modern citizens rely on the highlighting functions of the machinery more than the other. Specifically, online services facilitate the human to gain access to everything and make it possible to easily address all problems without seeking other support. Besides that, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that people could not count on relatives as much as they used to and tend to be far from home. As a prime example, many students choose to study abroad instead of going to their local university, and this practical experience makes them more independent as they further live alone. For the reasons mentioned above, while there are some reasons to believe that people now depend on each other more, it seems to me that we are more independent than ever.