In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Digital learning has become popular nowadays since several people now prefer reading electronic books instead of conventional textbooks. This essay argues that this approach has more benefits than drawbacks because e-books provide convenience, reduces paper waste, and require low maintenance cost. To initiate, printing a book requires a lot of paper due to which numerous trees are cut every year, however, this paper wastage can be minimised if people opt to study through digital books. Secondly, electronic books provide more flexibility as one can carry them in their mobile phones and read them anywhere, anytime. Lastly, the storage and maintenance of paper books need space, which is not an issue in case of electronic books. Thus, learning via e-books is beneficial in many ways. However, there are some negative effects of reading digital books such as, they can be detrimental mental to a person’s eyesight and mental health. For instance, a recent survey revealed that exposure to electronic devices for a longer period decreases vision and may lead to temporary blindness in some people. To conclude, despite the negative consequence of reading digital books on a person’s eye health, it is certainly more advantageous to read electronic books. This is because such books are easy to use, flexible, and are low-maintenance.