Children today spend a lot of time on social media. What potential problems could it cause and how would they be addressed.

Children spend a considerable amount of time these days glued to the internet watching videos or engaging in social networks. Outdoor and creative activities are being replaced by technology like apps, video games, etc. Even though the internet has revolutionised our ways of thinking and doing things, it comes with its own set of issues. This essay will discuss in detail, the potential problems caused due to social media in the lives of children and will suggest practical solutions to address the issue. Firstly, higher social media usage affects a child's academic performance. Research suggests that children who spend more time on social media relatively have poor concentration levels and productivity than those who don’t or use it constructively. Moreover, in the long run it affects their eyesight, sleep patterns and cognitive abilities. Secondly, the usage of social media has a close relationship with declining mental health. It has been observed that exposure to social media leads to anxiety and other mental problems which seems to get worse as time goes by. Children are vulnerable and therefore more susceptible to falling in social media traps like online addiction or impressing others on such platforms. These issues can be addressed by drawing certain boundaries and time limits to its usage through careful monitoring. Parents can introduce interesting books with illustrations, educational audio-visuals, outdoor sports and engaging activities for kids which is a better use of their time. To conclude, there is no doubt that social media has inevitably replaced a lot of conventional hobbies and interests that children used to indulge in. However, over exposure of social media usage does more harm than good. With some restriction and involving kids in enjoyable activities these problems can be tackled which will help them use their time constructively and boost their overall wellbeing.