University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

College students, in undergraduate and graduate programmes, are increasingly studying overseas as part of their syllabus. Although studying abroad undoubtedly signifies a global scope, it is probable that many local subjects are missed, such as Mongolian Law or Patagonian Poetry. In spite of loosing some important areas of study, students will always benefit from studying in a different country than theirs. On one hand, completing a career abroad brings out many insightful experiences that strengthen a global way of thinking. Being far away from the comfort of home will mean to do 'simply things' in a diverse way, such as sitting a final exam, that might differ from country to country. For example, when I was a foreign student in Granada, I prepared myself to take the 'Literature Exam', but to my surprise, in the assessment day, students were tested orally, instead of with pen and paper. Therefore, these unique experience carries developing an open-mind, which has a profound impact on understanding other cultures. On the other hand, going abroad means to choose an international career over a local one. This is simply because professionals need to specialise in their local field. For instance, it is not possible to study Law in the United States, pretending to work in Colombia, or French Finances, if you aim to have a job as a consultant in Chile. Hence, many regional oriented subjects from the curriculum are not taken into account when studying in a different country than yours. To conclude, many university students tend to travel internationally as part of their programmes. While this means a global way of seeing the world we live in, it neglects regional fields of study. In my personal opinion, the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the cons.