University of technology, in the following going to military service

I graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Engineering in Safety & Technical Inspection Eng. from Petroleum University of Technology, in the following going to military service. I passed my military service in an oil district as an Inspection Engineer. Here, we routinely used several standards, namely ASME and API, and examined the quality of welds. I picked up that how to deploy equations into practical situations. While it was a fruitful experience, it did not fulfil my goals. Indeed, I would prefer to horizon my knowledge, scrutinize and comprehend the fundamental principles of science, so that I employ them to enhance properties of materials. Hence, for this reason, I continued education, and wish to pursue Ph. D. studies. Regarding to this matter, I participated in Nationwide M. Sc. entrance exam in two fields, and since I put maximum effort into fulfilling my goals, I could place amongst top 0. 5% Participants in Nationwide M. Sc. entrance exam of Material science and engineering and acquire 9th rank in entrance exam of Nanotechnology. I could earn a seat in Sharif University of technology, which is the best technical university in Iran. During my master, I studied on Metallic Glass and simulated such material with Molecular dynamic (through Lammps software) in the simulation Lab under supervision of Dr. Tavakoli, who is one of the eminent person in this field. The title of my master thesis was “Comparing Glass Formability of Cu-Zr and Ni-Zr Systems by Molecular Dynamics Simulation” and its results published in “Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids”. We exercised OVITO and POV-Ray software to visualize the output results, obtained from Lammps, and a home-made code, written base on Voro++, to calculate some desire atomic structures, short- and medium range order. After graduation, I continued my collaboration with my supervisor to pursue my interests. Recently, we submitted a paper in “Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids”. To investigate more on such materials from other aspects, we also studied variation of polygons with cooling rate. We also simulated systems of Co-W, NiP, PdSi and FeP to study other properties such as mechanical properties, chemical short range order, effect of cooling rate on properties etc. . We are collating their results to write their paper, and hope to submit and publish them in the imminent future. My research interest includes metallic glass (MG) (biomaterial, composite, etc. ), simulation (whether molecular dynamic or DFT) and shape-memory alloys (SMA). After doctoral graduation, I intend to apply for postdoc jobs, and eventually hold a chair at a university. To accomplish my goals, EPFL can be an ideal platform. To the best of my knowledge, EPFL with its worthy research facilities and robust academic background of prominent faculties will afford me a suitable environment to pursue the Ph. D. study in MGs and SMA. By providing me with abundant opportunity to acquire the knowledge, I am sure the Ph. D. program at EPFL will prepare me to conduct independent research and familiarize me with a research career in the academia. I am totally acquainted with the high standards of academic excellence and research that EPFL has set for its students. I believe that my dedication, diligence, motivation and high enthusiasm in MG and SMA will make me an ideal applicant.