University is the place where people can get a higher education. But, there are two opposing views about the function of the university.

University is the place where people can get a higher education. But, there are two opposing views about the function of the university. The first opinion is, universities should prepare the students with a knowledge and abilities for working. Meanwhile, others believe that it is enough to provide the access of knowledge regardless it will be used or not. In my opinion, the university needs to provide basic knowledge and skills that can help them to adapt in the workplace. The first reason is because it can assist the students to upgrade their skills, so it will match with the job market. For instance, in engineering degree, they have to master critical and analytical thinking. Nevertheless, they also need to develop their softskill such as leadership and management. In fact, many recruiters seek for the future leaders to become their new employee. Secondly, it can train them to be prepared mentally in the work circumstances. For example, if they used to know how to lead a team, it will be easier when they become managers in the future. They will be more adaptive than the others who never had the experience in leading and managing people. Other example is, if the lecturer taught the student how to solve a problem, it will make them be more creative and understand what to do when they are faced with problems in the workplace. In short, the university must become the place where the students can learn and broaden themselves to be ready for the workplace. There are two reasons why it needed, which are because of the matchmaking the students’ skills and the requirements, and to prepare their mental at work.