University Education Should Be Free To Everyone

It is thought that studying at university is everyone’s right, and all tuition fees should be fully paid by the government. The former view is reasonable, however, I disagree that the government should take responsibility for students’ university education fees. I believe every student is entitled to go to college to acquire tertiary degrees. It is because, from my point of view, knowledge gained at university should be freely imparted to everyone. Furthermore, all students, although different in financial backgrounds, are equal in intelligence and scholastic capability, hence equal opportunities to gain admittance to university. Moreover, there will be tremendous impact on the economy of the nation as all the people will achieve employment opportunities due to their enhanced knowledge and skills. For instance, a nation where literacy rate is high will invariably have a higher per capita income. Furthermore, having free education can provide students an opportunity to explore a career of their own choice. To illustrate, sometimes parents cannot afford the hefty fee of professional courses like engineering and this inability hampers the child’s future as they cannot study a subject of their interest. Also, when university education is free for all, private institutions will not be able to exploit students by charging hefty fee for admission. However, the government are under no obligation to take care of university attenders’ education costs. Providing free tertiary education might either push the government to the verge of bankruptcy or levy higher taxes on citizens because the costs for the government to maintain facilities or employ qualified teachers are certainly exorbitant. Additionally, education quality would also suffer owing to the increased number of students in one class, which prevents teachers from giving out thorough care for everyone. In fact, class size also exerts a fairly significant impact on how each student interacts with teachers and their peers. If there are too many members in one class, they will be afraid to ask questions, for example, which leads to their poor performance at university. In conclusion, while I agree that it is everyone’s right to pursue tertiary education, it seems to me that the government should not fully pay for study costs. So far, there have been ample opportunities for scholarships or exemptions; and I think that is the best method to support students.