Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

Although it is a highly debated idea whether there should be equal number of male and female students in every subject, it is often argued that universities should allocate equal quotas of admissions for both men and women in all disciplines. Those who are the proponents of this idea attempt to come up with several arguments in this connection. Firstly, because women need equal representation as men. Women for ages have strive for equality between genders. The purpose is to ensure the availability of equal facilities and resources for both men and women. In not so distant past, many countries did not allow girls to acquire higher education as it was considered a prerogative of men. In Victorian England for instance, the women until 1870’s were strictly prohibited only allowed to go to high schools. Secondly, girls are doing better than boys in various fields of study. In many developing countries, there is a great proportion of female students who drop out after secondary education because of lack of seats in their study of choice. Thirdly, keeping in view the current statistics of the world population the number of women is greater than that of men in most countries. It would be unfair for the education system of a country to favor equal distribution of seats for an unequal distribution of population. By fixing quotas for various subjects, the universities can encourage girls to pursue higher education. Keeping in view the aforementioned arguments, I personally believe that there should be an equal number of representations for both male and female students in every field so as to promote equality and help a nation to progress; it is crucial that universities allocate the same budget and financial resources for both genders.