The impact that the growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people traveling by air is to increase the tax on flights.

The negative impacts of increased air travel on the environment are becoming a cause of concern for various countries. There’s a certain group which believes that the authorities can succeed in discouraging people to travel less frequently by levying taxes on flights. This essay will discuss how this isn’t a viable approach towards alleviating the problem followed by some alternatives. The world is rapidly turning into a global village. Now more than ever, people are travelling to various places both domestically and internationally for business and studies. One cannot expect them to cycle to another country. Not only is this impractical considering time constraints but also inefficient in today’s technological advanced world. In addition, the planes were designed to make travel efficient and easier for people. Therefore, discouraging people to use less air travel by increasing taxes is practically asking them to go back to primitive ages. Moreover, using alternate modes of travel also may not result in a better environment since industry adds more to air pollution as compared to aviation. On the other hand, there are other adequate methods that can be put in motion to mitigate the impact of air travel on environment. Firstly, the authorities should take the initiative of investing in scientific studies and researches to try and find greener solutions to high carbon emitting fuels. Moreover, funds should be allocated towards planting more trees near airports to help build a cleaner and greener environment. In conclusion, increasing taxes on air travel may get people to think twice before buying an air ticket but can’t stop them altogether from travelling by air. However, there are other avenues like afforestation and eco- friendly fuels that need to be explored to help build a more sustainable environment.