Unemployment among young people is a serious problem. Some people suggest shorter working weeks instead of laying off employees. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages?

The impact of unemployment among young people, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. While some people believe that shorter working weeks, others claim that this can bring more problems than benefits. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate and thus lead to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why laying off employees has advantages for the company, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that helps the company save money, and helps them to keep company from sinking. An instance illustrating action is the fact that the survey conducted at the University of Canberra, which indicates that 60% of employers prefer laying off employees instead of shorter working weeks. Furthermore, another point to be taken into consideration is that the company ensures that they have the best employees on their team. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that laying off employees would bring an enormous disadvantage. It is largely attributed to the fact that it increases the workload of other employees. The most impeccable example that could be provided here is the article published in the Times magazine, which clearly illustrates that the majority of young employees in Japan may start seeking an employment elsewhere. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe laying off employees would assist them to be better at their job performance. However, it is in my considered opinion it can impact the moral of remaining employees, productivity, and the organization’s reputation.