Undoubtedly, progress is deemed to be a common thing happening in this era of industrialization and modernization.

Undoubtedly, progress is deemed to be a common thing happening in this era of industrialization and modernization. However, there are still controversial debates that several people raised the question of which progress is important to a country? Some people enunciated the idea that economic growth is the ultimate goal of government power while others advocated the opinion that other measures of progress, including happiness and environmental sustainably, are as crucial. This essay will discuss both views and give my own opinion. Undeniably, boosting economics play a significant essential role in enhancing residents’ living standard. Largely because economic progress ensures that more and more money is available for authority to pour money into infrastructure and public services. For instance, only when the economy creates enough profit and then contributes to the state budget via tax that the medical service is able to be provided free of charge to all citizens, thus enhancing better health. However, interestingly, it is not uncommon to see that other various factors are as crucial as economic ones. Particularly, the first measurement is environmental protection because the growth of the economy normally goes with the booming of manufacturing plants, the natural resources exploitation, and the increasing production of waste. With the exception of environmental conservation, severe contamination is inevitable that leads to health problems and other more serious consequences. Additionally, the second measurement is well-being which is not able to gain by money. Obviously, with the giant growth of economics, citizens often face depression because of excessive workload leading to a spiritual crisis. To sum up, I strongly believed that not only is the economy a key to access a country’s success but also happiness and environmental criteria are equally significant.