understanding concepts and ideas is more important than learning facts.

The education system is continuously evolving with time. While rote learning was the primary tool to gauge the competency of students in earlier times, the ability to understand novel concepts, is more useful. I therefore, agree with the statement that understanding concepts is more important than the mere memorization of facts Firstly, memorizing facts is an estimate of an individual's skill at retaining information. It is not indicative of someone's intelligence and their ability to comprehend concepts. if a student is adept at memorizing facts but does not know how to use that information and understand its complexity, the information remains insignificant. a student who studies conceptually and understands the context behind the subject has more chance at excelling in life than one who learns facts but does not know how to correlate the information and use it in daily life Secondly, committing factual information to memory can be a daunting task for students. some people with an innate ability to remember facts will have an unfair advantage over those who have difficulty memorizing details. This can psychologically affect the students who have an understanding of the concepts but cannot replicate the information during exams. There is a plethora of evidence linking the reason behind students committing suicide to the stress of memorizing textbooks for exams. Lastly, the examination protocols have changed drastically over the years. due to the easy accessibility of information via the internet, the focus has shifted from memorization to utilization of knowledge. a lot of universities conduct open books assessments to assess students on the use of concepts and its application to solve problems. For instance, TOEFL's listening section, assesses the ability of students to understand the concepts and the underlying ideas in the audio to answer the questions rather than learning the facts and writing them down word to word. To conclude, comprehension of concepts and using them to correlate information is more beneficial and useful than to learn facts without any understanding of it.